BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTH SUBURBAN COLLEGE

15800 South State Street, South Holland, Illinois Regular Board Meeting Minutes Thursday, May 12, 2016

I. CALL TO ORDER & ROLL CALL:

At 8:07 p.m. the Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of South Suburban College, Illinois Community College District No. 510 was called to order by Vice Chairman John Daly. The meeting was held in the Board Room of the College, Room 2248.

Present: Trustees John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells and Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum. Joseph Whittington arrived at 8:25 p.m.

Absent: Trustees Jacqueline Martin and Frank M. Zuccarelli.

Also present: Donald Manning, President; Songie Adebiyi, Vice President of Student Development; Lynette Stokes, Vice President of Academic Services; Martin Lareau, Vice President of Administration and Secretary to the Board; and College Attorney Stanley T. Kusper.

II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Vice Chairman John Daly.

III. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION:

There was none.

IV. REPORTS/PRESENTATIONS

A. Art Purchase Awards

A presentation on the Art Purchase Awards was delivered by Jack Kirkpatrick.

B. Recognition of Retirees

A presentation recognizing retirees was delivered by Martin Lareau.

V. PREVIOUS MEETING MINUTES

A. Finance Committee Meeting held April 14, 2016

Trustee Whittington moved and Trustee DeFilippo seconded to approve the minutes of the Finance Committee meeting held on April 14, 2016. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Joseph Whittington and Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Nays: None. Trustees Janet Rogers and Terry Wells passed. Motion carried.

B. Regular Board of Trustees Meeting held April 14, 2016

Trustee Whittington moved and Trustee DeFilippo seconded to approve the minutes of the Regular Board of Trustees meeting held on April 14, 2016. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Joseph Whittington and Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Nays: None. Trustees Janet Rogers and Terry Wells passed. Motion carried.

Board Meeting May 12, 2016 Page 2

VI. NEW BUSINESS

A. Monthly Financial Report

Trustee DeFilippo moved and Trustee Rogers seconded to accept the Monthly Financial Report as presented by Treasurer Tim Pollert. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Nays: None. Motion carried.

B. Bills Payable for April, 2016

Trustee Rogers moved and Trustee Wells seconded to authorize the Treasurer to pay the list of bills payable for April, 2016 in the amount of \$2,959,816.92. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Nays: None. Motion carried.

VII. PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS

A. Retirements/Resignations/Terminations

Trustee DeFilippo moved and Trustee Wells seconded to approve the resignation of Thomas Eisha, Campus Police Officer, effective May 2, 2016. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Nays: None. Motion carried.

B. Appointments

Trustee DeFilippo moved and Student Trustee Tatum seconded to approve the appointment of Lorrin Paun as a Testing and Course Specialist in the Business & Career Institute, effective May 16, 2016. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Nays: None. Motion carried.

C. Approval to reappoint non-tenured faculty

Trustee Whittington moved and Trustee DeFilippo seconded to reappoint the following non-tenured faculty members as instructors for the 2016-2017 academic year: Rob Calhoon, Zubeir Haroun, Nancy Mulvihill, and La'Taria Overstreet. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Nays: None. Motion carried.

VIII. CLOSED SESSION

There was none.

ADJOURNMENT

At 8:45 p.m. Trustee Rogers moved and Trustee Whittington seconded that the Board Meeting be adjourned. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Martin Lareau, Board Secretary

John Daly, Vice Chairman of the Board of Trustees