# REGULAR MEETING, BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 510 SOUTH HOLLAND, ILLINOIS THURSDAY, JANUARY 08, 2009

## CALL TO ORDER:

The Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Illinois Community College District No. 510 was called to order by Board Chair Frank Zuccarelli, at 8:06 p.m. in the Board Room of the College.

#### ROLL CALL

Board Members present: Chairman Frank Zuccarelli, Vice Chair John Daly, Trustees: Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Terry Wells, and Joseph Whittington.

Board Member Absent: Jacqueline Martin

Also in attendance: George Dammer, President; Diane Ostojic, Vice President for Academic Services; Songie Milhouse, Vice President for Student Development; Jane Ellen Stocker, Vice President for Enrollment and Community Services; Don Manning, Vice President of Administration and Secretary to the Board; and Stanley Kusper, College Attorney.

# PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chairman Frank Zuccarelli

## PUBLIC PARTICIPATION:

None

# REPORTS/PRESENTATIONS

None

# MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETINGS

# Finance Committee

Trustee DeFilippo moved, seconded by Trustee Jackson Booker that the minutes of the Finance Committee meeting held on December 11, 2008 be approved. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, and Frank Zuccarelli. Nays: None. Motion passed.

#### Regular Board Meeting

Trustee Whittington moved, seconded by Trustee Jackson Booker that the minutes of the Regular Board Meeting held on December 11, 2008 be approved. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, and Frank Zuccarelli. Nays: None. Motion carried

# Closed Session

Trustee Wells moved and Trustee Whittington seconded to approve the minutes of the Closed Session held December 11, 2008. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, and Frank Zuccarelli. Nays: None. Motion carried

Regular Board Meeting January 08, 2009 Page two

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

# Monthly Financial Report

Trustee DeFilippo moved and Trustee Jackson Booker seconded to accept the Financial Report as presented by Treasurer Tim Pollert. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, and Frank Zuccarelli. Nays: None. Motion carried.

# Bills Payable - January, 2009

Trustee Whittington moved and Trustee Jackson Booker seconded, to approve the list of bills payable for January, 2009, in the amount of \$2,889,179.59. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, and Frank Zuccarelli. Nays: None. Motion carried.

#### Bid Recommendation - Child Care Food Service Contract

Trustee DeFilippo made a motion to accept the bid of the lowest qualified vendor Eat Enterprises, Mokena, Illinois, for the provision of food service in the Child Development Center. Trustee Daly seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the vote is as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, and Frank Zuccarelli. Nays: None. Motion carried.

# <u>Disposal of Closed Session Audio Tapes and Release Closed Session Minutes for Public Review</u>

Trustee Daly moved and Trustee Jackson Booker seconded that the Board of Trustees authorize the destruction of the audio tapes of its closed meetings held on the following dates: January 11, 2007, May 10, 2007, and June 14, 2007. the May 8, 2008 and the September 11, 2008 written closed session minutes; and to keep the written minutes of the April 12, 2007 and February 14, 2008 meetings closed at this time. Trustee Jackson Booker seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the vote is as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, and Frank Zuccarelli. Nays:

# PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS

## Resignation

None. Motion carried.

Trustee DeFilippo made a motion, seconded by Trustee Wells, to approve the resignation of Richard Magno, Trades II, and grant permission to advertise to fill the vacated position. Upon roll call, the vote as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, and Frank Zuccarelli. Nays: None. Motion carried.

# <u>Appointments</u>

Trustee Daly made a motion, seconded by Trustee Jackson Booker to approve the promotion of Barbara Schneider as Administrative Assistant II, in the Department of Business and Technology Programs, effective January 12, 2009. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, and Frank Zuccarelli. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Trustee Jackson Booker made a motion, seconded by Trustee Daly to approve the appointment of Jeffrey Rihacek as Project Manager, effective January 12, 2009. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Terry Wells, and Joseph Whittington. Frank Zuccarelli passed. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Regular Board Meeting January 08, 2009 Page three

# Reappointments of Non-Tenured Faculty

Trustee Jackson Booker moved and Trustee Wells seconded to approve the following reappointments: George Alexopoulos, Bruce Allardice, Mirian Anthony, Susan Banach, Jazaer Fouad-Farrar, Shari McGovern, Donald Norton, Dora smith and Karen Williams. Upon roll call, the vote as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, and Frank Zuccarelli. Nays: None. Motion carried.

# Reappointment of Tenured Faculty Members

Trustee Daly moved and Trustee Whittington seconded to approve the faculty tenure reappointments of Richard Evans, CIS, Sergio Gomez, Art & Design, Cheryl Klemp, Nursing, Kinasha Myrick, MAS/MDR, Belinda Payne, Nursing, and Michael Wilson, Life Science & Physical Education. Upon roll call, the vote as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, and Frank Zuccarelli. Nays: None. Motion carried.

# Recommendation not to rehire

Trustee Daly moved and Trustee Jackson Booker seconded to approve the request to not rehire Debra Mayberry as an instructor for the 2009-1010 academic year. Upon roll call, the vote as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, and Frank Zuccarelli. Nays: None. Motion carried.

# CLOSED SESSION;

The Board determined that there was no reason to move to Closed Session.

#### **MISCELLANEOUS**

There were no miscellaneous for discussion.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

With no further business, the Chair called for a motion to adjourn. Trustee Jackson Booker moved and Trustee Wells seconded. Voice vote carried the motion unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 8:23 p.m.

Don Manning, Secretary to the Board	Frank M. Zuccarelli, Board Chairman