BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTH SUBURBAN COLLEGE

15800 SOUTH STATE STREET, SOUTH HOLLAND, ILLINOIS
REGULAR BOARD MEETING MINUTES
THURSDAY, JANUARY 8, 2015

I. CALL TO ORDER & ROLL CALL:

At 8:13 p.m. the Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of South Suburban College, Illinois Community College District No. 510 was called to order by Chairman Frank M. Zuccarelli. The meeting was held in the Board Room of the College, Room 2248.

Present: Trustees John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Jacqueline Martin, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, Frank M. Zuccarelli and Student Trustee Rebecca Garcia.

Absent: None

Also present: Donald Manning, President; Songie Adebiyi, Vice President of Student Development; Lynette Stokes-Wilson, Vice President of Academic Services; Martin Lareau, Vice President of Administration and Secretary to the Board; and College Attorney Stanley T. Kusper.

II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chairman Frank M. Zuccarelli.

III. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION:

There was none.

IV. REPORTS/PRESENTATIONS

A. ASBO Award

Treasurer Tim Pollert presented the ASBO award to South Suburban College Board of Trustees.

B. Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve Patriot Award

President Don Manning and Officer Jason Miller presented the Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve Patriot Award to the South Suburban College Board of Trustees.

V. PREVIOUS MEETING MINUTES

A. Finance Committee Meeting held December 11, 2014

Trustee Wells moved and Trustee Whittington seconded to approve the minutes of the Finance Committee meeting held December 11, 2014. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Jacqueline Martin, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Rebecca Garcia voted aye. Motion Carried.

B. Regular Board of Trustees Meeting held December 11, 2014

Trustee Martin moved and Trustee Wells seconded to approve the minutes of the Regular board of Trustees meeting held on December 11, 2014. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Jacqueline Martin, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Rebecca Garcia voted aye. Motion Carried.

VI. NEW BUSINESS

A. Monthly Financial Report

Trustee DeFilippo moved and Trustee Rogers seconded to accept the Monthly Financial Report as presented by Treasurer Tim Pollert. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Jacqueline Martin, Janet Rogers, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Rebecca Garcia voted aye. Motion Carried.

B. Bills Payable for January, 2015

Trustee Whittington moved and Trustee DeFilippo seconded to authorize the Treasurer to pay the list of bills payable for January, 2015 in the amount of \$2,969,002.59. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Jacqueline Martin, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Rebecca Garcia voted aye. Motion Carried.

C. Approval to release closed session minutes and dispose of closed session audio tapes in accordance with the Open Meetings Act. The written minutes of June 12, 2014 and August 14, 2014 are authorized to be released. The audio recordings of June 14, 2012 and July 12, 2012 are authorized to be destroyed.

Trustee Martin moved and Trustee Whittington seconded to release closed session minutes and dispose of closed session audio tapes in accordance with the Open Meetings Act. The written minutes of June 12, 2014 and August 14, 2014 are authorized to be released. The audio recordings of June 14, 2012 and July 12, 2012 are authorized to be destroyed. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Jacqueline Martin, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Rebecca Garcia voted aye. Motion Carried.

D. Approval to adopt the proposed academic calendars for Fall 2016, Spring 2017, and Summer 2017.

Trustee Wells moved and Trustee Martin seconded to adopt the proposed academic calendars for Fall 2016, Spring 2017, and Summer 2017. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Jacqueline Martin, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Rebecca Garcia voted aye. Motion Carried.

VII. PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS

A. Resignation

Trustee Daly moved and Trustee Whittington seconded to approve the resignation of Allen Babiarz, Client Solutions & Project Manager, Business & Career Institute, effective January 9, 2015, and grant permission to advertise to fill the vacant, partially grant-funded position. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Jacqueline Martin, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Rebecca Garcia voted aye. Motion Carried.

B. Appointments

1. Trustee Daly moved and Student Trustee Garcia seconded to approve the Appointment of Zubeir Haroun as a full-time Instructor/Coordinator in the Echocardiography Program, effective January 8, 2015 on a conditional basis pending a satisfactory criminal background investigation. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Jacqueline Martin, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Rebecca Garcia voted aye. Motion Carried.

Board Meeting January 8, 2015 Page 3

2. Trustee Daly moved and Trustee DeFilippo seconded to approve the appointment of Jenna Martin as an Information Specialist in the Counseling Center, effective January 12, 2015. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Trustee Jacqueline Martin Passed. Nays: None. Student Trustee Rebecca Garcia voted aye. Motion Carried.

C. Approval to re-appoint non-tenured faculty members as Instructors upon the completion of the 2015-2016 academic year

Trustee Daly moved and Trustee Whittington seconded to re-appoint the following non-tenured faculty members as Instructors upon the completion of the 2015-2016 academic year: Olumwakemi "Kemi" Adeyemi, Danielle Coleman, LaDonn Shelton and Cornell Darden. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Jacqueline Martin, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Rebecca Garcia voted aye. Motion Carried.

D. Grant permission to create and advertise

Trustee Daly moved and Trustee Whittington seconded to create and advertise the position of Case Manager/Job Developer for the Network Technician Training Program National Emergency Grant (NEG). On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Jacqueline Martin, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Rebecca Garcia voted aye. Motion Carried.

Closed Session:

There was none.

ADJOURNMENT

At 8:40 p.m. Trustee Martin moved and Trustee Rogers seconded that the Board Meeting be adjourned. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Jacqueline Martin, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Rebecca Garcia voted aye. Motion Carried.

| Martin Lareau, Board Secretary |
|--|
| |
| |
| Frank M. Zuccarelli, Chairman of the Board of Trustees |