SOUTH SUBURBAN COLLEGE, DISTRICT #510 SOUTH HOLLAND, ILLINOIS REGULAR BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING FEBRUARY 11, 2010

The Regular Meeting of the South Suburban College Board of Trustees of Illinois Community College District No. 510 was called to order by Chairman Frank M. Zuccarelli, at 8:09 p.m. on Thursday, February 11, 2010, in the Board Room of South Suburban College located at 15800 S. State Street, South Holland, Illinois.

ROLL CALL

Board members present

Chairman Frank M. Zuccarelli, Vice Chair John Daly, Trustees Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Joseph Whittington, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith.

Board member absent

Terry Wells

Administration present

George Dammer, President; Diane Ostojic, Vice President for Academic Services; Songie Milhouse, Vice President for Student Development; Jane Ellen Stocker, Vice President for Enrollment and Community Services; Don Manning, Vice President of Administration and Secretary to the Board; Stanley Kusper, College Attorney, Berdyne Kuiken, President of Support Staff Association, and Gerald Griffith, President of the Faculty Association.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chairman Frank M. Zuccarelli.

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION:

No one signed in to address the Board.

REPORTS

Nursing Program

Dean of Nursing Marjorie Roache introduced Nursing Instructor Cheryl Luster-Klemp who was selected to receive from the Illinois Board of Higher Education the Nurse Educator Fellowship Award in the amount of \$10,000 for Fiscal Year 2010 to apply toward her future education.

Mrs. Roache conducted an exit survey of nursing students on their opinion of the strengths and weaknesses of the Nursing Department for the years of 2002 through 2009. Cheryl Luster-Klemp distributed a pass rate list of Practical Nursing and Associate Degree Nursing Program. The results were 93% for the ADN program and 100% for the Practical Nursing program.

Rebound Program

Public Relations Director Pat Rush gave a report on the Rebound Program. This free education program was developed in February, 2009 to help residents of our district who have become unemployed for the past year. In addition to the free classes, some of the students took other courses and applied for financial aid. He reported the program has been a great success and has created great publicity for the College.

Regular Board Meeting February 11, 2010 Page 2

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETINGS

Regular Board Meeting

Trustee Whittington moved and Trustee Martin seconded to approve the minutes of the Regular Board Meeting held January 14, 2010. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Jacqueline Martin, Joseph Whittington, Frank M. Zuccarelli and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Katie Jackson Booker passed. Nays: none. Motion carried.

Closed Session

Trustee Martin moved and Trustee Whittington seconded to approve the minutes of the Closed Session held January 14, 2010. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Jacqueline Martin, Joseph Whittington, Frank M. Zuccarelli and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Katie Jackson Booker passed. Nays: none. Motion carried.

NEW BUSINESS:

Monthly Financial Report:

Trustee Daly moved to accept the Financial Report as presented by Treasurer Tim Pollert. Trustee Jackson Booker seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Joseph Whittington, Frank M. Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Nays: None. Motion carried

Bills Payable

Trustee Whittington moved and Trustee Jackson Booker seconded, to approve payment of the list of bills for February, 2010, totaling \$3,176,429.25. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Joseph Whittington, Frank M. Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Nays: None. Motion carried

PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS

Retirement/Resignation/Termination

Trustee Daly made a motion, seconded by Trustee Whittington to approve the retirement request of Arlene Horn, Administrative Assistant II, Department of Fine Arts, English and Humanities, effective July 1, 2010 and grant permission to advertise to fill the position. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Joseph Whittington, Frank M. Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Nays: None. Motion carried

CLOSED SESSION

Closed Session:

At 9:10 p.m., Trustee Daly made a motion, seconded by Trustee Martin that the Board of Trustees go into closed session for the purposes of discussing and consider the hiring, discipline, performance, and compensation of certain personnel, matters of collective bargaining, acquisition of real property, and matters of pending, probable, or imminent litigation. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Joseph Whittington, Frank M. Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Nays: None. Motion carried

Regular Board Meeting February 11, 2010 Page 3

Resume Open Session:

At 11:17 p.m., the Board of Trustees returned to open session on a motion from Trustee Daly and seconded by Trustee Martin. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Joseph Whittington, Frank M. Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Nays: None. Motion carried

MISCELLANEOUS

Trustee DeFilippo made a motion, seconded by Trustee Daly to approve the College President to make contact with the various employee groups to discuss the financial condition of the College and do whatever is necessary to ensure compliance with the collective bargaining agreements and applicable law. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Joseph Whittington, Frank M. Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Nays: None. Motion carried

ADJOURNMENT

With no further business, Chairman Zuccarelli called for a motion to adjourn. Trustee Martin moved and Trustee Jackson Booker seconded. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Joseph Whittington, Frank M. Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Nays: None. Motion carried

The meeting adjourned at 11:19 p.m.		
	_	
Don Manning, Secretary to the Board	Frank M. Zuccarelli, Chairman	