South Suburban College Board of Trustee Meeting District 510

REGULAR MEETING, BOARD OF TRUSTEES Thursday, July 09, 2009

MINUTES

At 8:04 p.m. Chairman Frank Zuccarelli called the meeting to order. The meeting was held at the University and College Center, 16333 S. Kilbourn, Oak Forest, Illinois,

Roll Call:

Board Members Present

Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, Chairman Frank Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith.

Board Member Absent:

John Daly

Administration Present:

George Dammer, President; Diane Ostojic, Vice President for Academic Services; Songie Milhouse, Vice President for Student Development; Jane Ellen Stocker, Vice President for Enrollment and Community Services; Don Manning, Vice President of Administration and Secretary to the Board; and Stanley Kusper, College Attorney.

<u>Pledge of Allegiance</u> Chairman Zuccarelli led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Public Participation: None

Approval of Meeting Minutes of June 11, 2009

Architectural Committee:

Terry Wells moved and Joseph Whittington seconded to approve the minutes of the Architectural Committee of June 11, 2009. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Terry Wells, Frank Zuccarelli, Joseph Whittington and. Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Jacqueline Martin passed. Motion carried.

Finance Committee:

Anthony DeFilippo moved and Terry Wells seconded to approve the minutes of the Finance Committee of June 11, 2009. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Terry Wells, Frank Zuccarelli, Joseph Whittington and. Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Jacqueline Martin passed. Motion carried.

Regular Board Meeting July 09, 2009 Page 2

Regular Board Meeting:

Joseph Whittington moved and Katie Jackson Booker seconded to approve the minutes of the Regular Board Meeting of June 11, 2009. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Terry Wells, Frank Zuccarelli, Joseph Whittington and. Student Trustee Sabrina Smith Jacqueline Martin passed. Motion carried.

New Business:

Financial Report:

Terry Wells moved and Joseph Whittington seconded to accept the Financial Report as presented by Treasurer Tim Pollert. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, Frank Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Motion carried.

Payment of Bills for July, 2009:

Jacqueline Martin moved and Katie Jackson Booker seconded, to approve the payment of bills for July 2009, in the amount of \$3,182,802. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, Frank Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Motion carried.

Approval of Resolution for Prevailing Wage Rates:

Anthony DeFilippo moved and Katie Jackson Booker seconded for a motion for the approval to adopt the resolution setting forth the prevailing wage rates for laborers, workmen, and mechanics employed on public works of Community College District 510, as compiled by the Illinois Department of Labor. Once adopted, this resolution will be filed with the Illinois Secretary of State. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, Frank Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Motion carried.

Approval of Rental Agreements:

- 1. Anthony DeFilippo moved and Katie Jackson Booker seconded to approve the rental agreement of Chicago State University. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, Frank Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Motion carried.
- 2. Anthony DeFilippo moved and Jacqueline Martin seconded to approve the rental agreement of Governors State University. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, Frank Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Motion carried
- Anthony DeFilippo moved and Terry Wells seconded to approve the rental agreement of University of St. Francis. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, Frank Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Motion carried

Regular Board Meeting July 09 , 2009 Page 3

Release Closed Session Minutes and Dispose of Closed Session Audio Tapes

Joseph Whittington moved and Anthony DeFilippo seconded to approve the destruction of the July 12, 2007, August 09, 2007, and October 11, 2007, audio tapes; release the April 12, 2007, and February 14, 2008 written closed session minutes; and to keep the written minutes of the December 11, 2008, April 09, 2009, May 14, 2009, closed at this time. This is in accordance with the Illinois Open Meeting Act. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, Frank Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Motion carried.

Change in September Board Meeting date

Jacqueline Martin moved and Katie Jackson Booker seconded to approve the change in meeting date of the September Regular Board meeting from September 10, 2009 to September 17, 2009. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, Frank Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Motion carried.

Personnel:

Retirement/Resignation:

Katie Jackson Booker moved and Joseph Whittington seconded to approve the following: A. resignation of Norma McQueen, Financial Aid Technician, effective July 16, 2009 and grant permission to advertise to fill the position; B. resignation DeLeon Duckworth, Custodian, effective June 22, 2009, and grant permission to advertise to fill the position. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, Frank Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Motion carried.

Appointments: None

<u>Closed Session</u>: None

Miscellaneous:

President Dammer reported on the Higher Learning Commission Award received. Included in the Board Book is the Statement of Affiliation Status and the Organizational Profile.

Adjournment:

At 8:18 p.m. and with no further business, the Chair called for a motion to adjourn. Katie Jackson Booker moved and Jacqueline Martin seconded. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Ayes: Anthony DeFilippo, Katie Jackson Booker, Jacqueline Martin, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, Frank Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Sabrina Smith. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned.