BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTH SUBURBAN COLLEGE

15800 SOUTH STATE STREET, SOUTH HOLLAND, ILLINOIS
REGULAR BOARD MEETING MINUTES
THURSDAY. JANUARY 11. 2018

I. CALL TO ORDER & ROLL CALL:

At 8:31 p.m., Chairman Frank M. Zuccarelli called the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of South Suburban College, Illinois Community College District No. 510 to order. The meeting was held in the Board Room of the College, Room 2248.

Present: Trustees John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Vivian Payne, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, Frank M. Zuccarelli, and Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum.

Absent: None.

Also present: Donald Manning, President; Songie Adebiyi, Vice President of Student Development; Lynette Stokes, Vice President of Academic Services; Martin Lareau, Vice President of Administration and Secretary to the Board; and College Attorney Sarie Winner.

II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Chairman Frank M. Zuccarelli led the Pledge of Allegiance.

III. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION:

There was none.

IV. REPORTS/PRESENTATIONS

Ms. Raylynn Stokes delivered a presentation on the Literacy Program and Family Reading Night.

V. PREVIOUS MEETING MINUTES

A. Finance Committee meeting held December 14, 2017

Trustee Wells moved and Trustee Rogers seconded to approve the minutes of the Finance Committee meeting held December 14, 2017. On roll call John Daly, Vivian Payne, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells and Joseph Whittington voted aye. Nays: None. Trustees Anthony DeFilippo and Frank M. Zuccarelli passed. Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Motion carried.

B. Regular Board of Trustees meeting held December 14, 2017

Trustee Wells moved and Trustee Rogers seconded to approve the minutes of the Regular Board of Trustees meeting held on December 14, 2017. On roll call John Daly, Vivian Payne, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells and Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Trustees Anthony DeFilippo passed. Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Motion carried.

C. Closed Session meeting held December 14, 2017

Trustee Whittington moved and Student Trustee Tatum seconded to approve the minutes of the Closed Session meeting held on December 14, 2017. On roll call John Daly, Vivian Payne, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Trustee Anthony DeFilippo passed. Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Motion carried.

Board Meeting January 11, 2018 Page 2

VI. NEW BUSINESS

A. Monthly Financial Report

Trustee Rogers moved and Trustee Whittington seconded to accept the Monthly Financial Report as presented by Treasurer Tim Pollert. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Vivian Payne, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Motion carried.

B. Bills Payable for January, 2018

Trustee Whittington moved and Student Trustee Tatum seconded to authorize the Treasurer to pay the list of bills payable for January, 2018 in the amount of \$2,851,147.86. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Vivian Payne, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Motion carried.

C. Approval to continue the lease of our I.T.F.S. excess capacity by entering into a new ten (10) year contract with two ten (10) year options, with Clearwire Spectrum Holdings III, LLC.

Trustee DeFilippo moved and Trustee Wells seconded to continue the lease of our I.T.F.S. excess capacity by entering into a new ten (10) year contract with two ten (10) year options, with Clearwire Spectrum Holdings III, LLC. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Vivian Payne, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Motion carried.

D. Approval to release closed session minutes and dispose of closed session audio tapes in accordance with the Open Meetings Act. The written minutes of September 14, 2017 and November 9, 2017 are authorized to be released. The written minutes of December 14, 2017 shall remain closed. The audio recordings of January 14, 2016 and February 11, 2016 are eligible to be destroyed.

Trustee DeFilippo moved and Trustee Rogers seconded to release closed session minutes and dispose of closed session audio tapes in accordance with the Open Meetings Act. The written minutes of September 14, 2017 and November 9, 2017 are authorized to be released. The written minutes of December 14, 2017 shall remain closed. The audio recordings of January 14, 2016 and February 11, 2016 are eligible to be destroyed. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Vivian Payne, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Motion carried.

VII. PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS

A. Retirements/Resignations/Terminations

Trustee Daly moved and Trustee Rogers seconded to approve the retirement of Don Manning, College President, effective October 1, 2018. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Vivian Payne, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Motion carried.

B. Appointments

Trustee Daly moved and Trustee Rogers seconded to approve the following appointments:

- 1. Appointment of Mary Vieweg as a full-time, grant-funded ESL Instructor in the Adult Education Department, effective January 16, 2018.
- 2. Appointment of Maureen Moran as a full-time Instructor in the Reading Department, effective January 11, 2018 pending a satisfactory criminal background investigation.

On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Vivian Payne, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Motion carried.

Board M	eet	ing
January	11,	2018
Page 3		

VIII. Closed Session:

There was none.

ADJOURNMENT

At 8:52 p.m., Trustee Payne moved and Trustee DeFilippo seconded that the Board Meeting be adjourned. On roll call John Daly, Anthony DeFilippo, Vivian Payne, Janet Rogers, Terry Wells, Joseph Whittington, and Frank M. Zuccarelli voted aye. Nays: None. Student Trustee Ronnell Tatum voted aye. Motion carried.

Martin Lareau, Secretary to the Board of Trustees

Frank M. Zuccarelli, Chairman of the Board of Trustees